Friday, 4 January 2008

Six More NLD Members Arrested

3 January 2008
Original report by Naw Say Paw, DVB

Member of Parliament and 5 of his colleagues, all of them, members of National League for Democracy Party were arrested and detained last night, it is reported.

Dr Aung Moe Nyo, MP, Pwint Hpu, Magwe, Ko Htay Myint, U Than Tun, U Ko Oo and a teacher U Sein Win (all from Nyaung Pin Sat Village) and Ko Nay Myo Kyaw from Saku were preparing to travel to attend the 60th Anniversary of Burma's Independence Day celebration at the home of U Khin Win, Chairman, NLD Party, Ye' Nan Chaung, when they were arrested.

The members were rounded up at midnight in Nyaung Pin Sat by a 20 strong police contingent led by the area official and are being held in Pwint Hpu police station. When he learnt about the arrest in the morning, the brother of Dr Aung Moe Nyo went to the police station where the NLD members have been detained, where he was told that the arrests were made in order to stop the group attending the Independence Day ceremony.

'I was told that there were concerns about 4th January and also about the gathering of the crowds. It was an order from the 'superiors'. They (the police) were acting, according to the order, to temporarily detain the NLD members', said the brother.

There were also reports that U Kin Win, the Chairman, Ye'Nan Chaung NLD Party and a few others who were organising the Independence Day's 60th anniversary celebration, were taken away by authorities for questioning.

No comments:

/* EOT ----------------------------------------- */